Outside

I awoke with the terrible sensation of being trapped inside myself.
I had lived in a mind so close to insanity for far too long, I think my soul began to scream. It clawed to get out and once again step out into the world and find humanity.
It begged and cried, so loud I felt I could no longer stay inside myself with such poor company.
So, for the first time in a long time that day, I stayed out of my mind and instead took in the many wonders of the conscious world.
I listened to the laughter of strangers, the flirtatious conversation of the couple on the city bus, a baby crying.
So many sounds from a world I had shut out.
Such treacherous sounds that reminded me why I had moved inside myself in the first place.
Oh how I preferred the clever whispers of my own insanity to these.

Leave a Reply

