Remember When?

The sun was setting in the sky, it lit the room up with a glow that soothed her to her very core. It made her feel giddy, like she was a kid again waiting for night to come so the star decals on her ceiling to light up above her.

His breathing was slow beside her, the warmth of his leg heating her up as it pressed against her own. Taking his hand from behind his head, he reached down and took her hand in his. Linking fingers, he took in a breath before breaking the silence. “Remember when we first started dating? We would spend hours and hours on our phones messaging one another.”

She laughed. “I don’t think I ever slept then. I would message you constantly. When  I wasn’t messaging you, I was thinking about messaging you, or waiting for you to message me.” Her smile spread as far as it could. “I never slept, but I was never tired.”

“Yeah.” He laughed.

“Remember when we would see each other after hours and hours of messaging one another? I felt like I told you everything there was to know about me, all my secrets, yet when I saw you I had butterflies like crazy. As though we were still strangers.”

He laughed. “I don’t think I stopped being nervous until we had already been together for a year. I always felt like we were waiting in line to go on a roller coaster. So much nervous energy, it was exciting yet a little scary.”

She smiled.

“Remember how long it took for us to get together?”

“Who’s fault is that?” She looked over at him, a playful, accusing glare directed at him.

He lifted his shoulders. “I want to say yours. But after being together this long, I know that everything is my fault. So I am going to go with mine.

She laughed, playfully poking him in the ribs. “You bet your ass it’s your fault. I was practically holding a sign above my head with bold writing on it saying ‘I like you‘ and you just went on oblivious as ever.”

“I was oblivious.”

“I know.” She smiled. “We were flirty friends for a year, I can honestly say I know you were oblivious.”

“Remember when we did finally get together though?”

She covered her face, embarrassed as the memory flooded back to her. “I was so nervous. I remember thinking to myself that things couldn’t get any worse. I was a bumbling mess…”

“If it makes you feel any better, so was I. If someone offered me a million dollars to tell them my full name that night, I wouldn’t have been able to.” He looked over at her.

She smiled. Rolling onto her side, she shoved her hands under her head and looked at him. There was something about his face in the dim light. The way the shadows outlined his face. Yet even in the dim light, his eyes still sparkled at her. She couldn’t help herself. Reaching out, she traced his jaw with her finger. “Remember when you first told me you loved me?”

“I remember your face. Like I had just given you something so amazing.”

She touched the tip of her finger to his lips. “You did.”

“Remember the days after?” He raised his brows before tracing the side of her breast.

A smile spread over her face. “I think I remember that.”

“Remember when you first moved in?”

She loved the time spent in their memories. It was like replaying the movie of their life together so far, playing the parts that defined them, playing them over and over again so they stuck out in their mind instead of fading away.

“Remember when we lived in that tiny shoe box apartment?”

“Remember when you sliced your hand open and came into the bathroom all nonchalant while I was in the shower? You were practically sliced to the bone and you just told me you were going to take a walk over to the hospital.”

“Remember the first time I met your parents?”

“Remember how scared I was of your older brother?”

“Remember when we went on our first international vacations?”

Hours passed and the dim light of sunset had completely disappeared, the stars not bright enough to light up their room. Lying in the dark, she rolled over. She ran her hand over the cold sheets, the ones that still had his indent in it.

Her eyes fogged over as she grabbed the sheets up in her fists. “Remember when we would stay up all night remembering everything?” Her voice broke.

Closing her eyes, she pictured the profile of his face. The way his jaw was shaped and the softness of his lips on her fingertips.

“Remember when you loved me?” She whispered.

Leave a Reply

